Skip to content

"The maximum principle, moving planes et al." by Louis Nirenberg (Courant Institute, New York University)

Jun 14, 2016 from 12:00 PM
Sala d'Actes de la FME
Add event to calendar


Louis Nirenberg (Hamilton, Canada, 1925) is considered one of the most important analysts of the twentieth century. He was awarded the Abel Prize, along with John F. Nash Jr., 2015.

L. Nirenberg graduated from McGill University in Montreal and obtained his master's and doctoral degrees from New York University in 1947 and 1949, respectively. He became a research assistant at NYU in 1949 and a professor there in 1951. He has made fundamental contributions to the study of linear and nonlinear partial differential equations and to their applications to complex analysis and geometry.

Nirenberg has received many awards, including the Bocher Memorial Prize (1959), the Crafoord Prize shared with Vladimir Arnold (1982), the Steele Prize (1994), the National Medal of Science (1995 ), the first Chern Medal (2010) and the Abel Prize (2015).

Inscription form